This list of Gluten-Free Easter Candy can serve as a guide for filling baskets and hearts with sweet and safe GF treats!
Wondering what gluten-free Easter candy is available this year to place in your child's Easter basket (or to enjoy yourself)? Here's a list of gluten-free Easter candy — as you'll see below, there are plenty of options you can use to make up a really nice gluten-free Easter basket.
Unless otherwise noted, these candies are considered by their manufacturers to contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. That makes them "gluten-free" according to the currently accepted definition.
Are Cadbury Eggs Gluten-Free?
There seems to be plenty of debate each year over whether Cadbury Crème Eggs are gluten-free or not, as well as Mini Eggs and Caramel Eggs. In the U.S., Cadbury Easter products are made by Hershey's, which does not consider them to be officially gluten-free due to the potential risk of gluten cross-contamination in manufacturing. Our friend Katie wrote a fabulous article about the issue.
However, the eggs appear to contain no gluten ingredients (Hershey's will specify any gluten-containing ingredients on the label). They are manufactured in a plant that also processes tree nuts and peanuts, but not wheat. So, we recommend using caution with Cadbury Eggs because Hershey's does not consider them gluten-free — despite safe-sounding ingredients, they may contain trace gluten - so not a good choice for someone with Celiac or a wheat allergy.
OK, let talk candy!
Here's the list of gluten-free Easter candy. If you're wondering about the gluten status of a candy product not on this list, you can find more information on it in this overall candy article, Gluten-Free Candy. Happy Easter!
Quick List: Our Favorite Dairy-Free + Gluten-Free Easter Candy:
Here are our favorite options for dairy-free + gluten-free candy for Easter or anytime: Jelly Belly jelly beans, Harry Potter Jelly Candies: especially the Jelly Slugs, Enjoy Life Chocolate Bars + Chocolates, and Yum Earth lollipops.
Gluten-Free Easter Candy List:
- Easter-themed Yum Earth Products, including: Jelly Beans, Gummies, Lollipops, Chewys, Gummy Fruits and Giggles
- Easter-themed Dove chocolate products, including: Dove chocolate Easter bunnies, Dove egg-shaped candies and Easter-themed Dove bars. Always check the label, as I've occasionally seen Dove chocolate products with "made on equipment shared with wheat" warnings. Mars Inc. will identify gluten ingredients on the product's label.
- Most Easter-themed M&Ms chocolate products, including: M&Ms solid milk chocolate Easter bunny, M&M candies in Easter colors, and egg-shaped M&M candies. Exceptions include pretzel M&Ms (which contain gluten) and some specialty flavored M&Ms (which contain warnings about shared equipment). Beware especially of the white chocolate M&Ms on sale exclusively at Target for Easter, as they contain a warning about a shared facility. Again, always check the label, as Mars Inc. will call out any potential gluten cross-contamination on the label.
- Plain milk chocolate regular-sized Hershey's Kisses in Easter-themed foil wrappers: (for more on the gluten status of Hershey's Kisses products, check out Are Hershey's Kisses Gluten-Free?
- Jelly Belly jelly beans (INCLUDING licorice flavor jelly beans) and all Jelly Belly specially themed Easter packages
- Harry Potter by Jelly Belly
- Easter-themed Starburst candy, including: jelly beans and special Easter candy packages
- Easter-themed Tootsie Roll candy, including: Double Bubble Easter egg-shaped bubble gum, Tootsie Pops, Charms Blow Pops and Charms Candy Carnival products
- Necco Candy Eggs
- Peeps Marshmallow Treats by Just Born (check the label to make sure it states "gluten-free" below the list of ingredients — most do, but a few are made in shared facilities)
- Kraft Bunny Mallows and Egg Mallows (marshmallow Easter-themed treats). Kraft Foods Group Inc. will clearly disclose any gluten ingredients on the label.
Again, these candies are considered gluten-free to less than 20 parts per million. If you have any questions about a specific product, contact the manufacturer.
Are Peeps Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free?
Almost all Peeps are gluten-free, and most are dairy-free too. That includes fun Easter flavors like Dr. Pepper, Cotton candy and party Cake Peeps.
The Just Born company is working to update all labels of gluten-free products to reflect their status. As precaution, Just Born adds a "may contain" warning to any Peeps products that have been manufactured in a facility where cross contamination is a possibility.
Our favorite homemade Easter Candy recipe: White Chocolate Rocky Road:
This gorgeous and easy-to-make White Chocolate Rocky Road is a colorful treat everyone can enjoy. Is sure to make gluten-free Easter baskets even sweeter.
Easter Candy That's NOT Considered Gluten-Free
• Balmer Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Brach's Speckled Jelly Bird Eggs
• Cadbury Crème Eggs (see note above)
• Cadbury Mini-Eggs (see note above)
• Cadbury Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors, see note above)
• Frankford Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Ghirardelli chocolate Easter eggs
• Hershey's Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Hershey's Easter egg candies (all sizes and flavors)
• Lindt chocolate carrots
• Lindt Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Mighty Malts Speckled Malted Milk Eggs
• Russell Stover Easter bunnies (all sizes and flavors)
• Sweetarts jelly beans and other Easter-themed candy
• Whoppers Robin Eggs and Mini Robin Eggs
• Zachary chocolate-covered marshmallow eggs
Article from Jane Anderson at About.com and updated by the G-Free Foodie team
Let Us Know What You Think