Gluten-Free Menus at In-n-Out Burger, Five Guys and Shake Shack

How to Order Gluten-Free at Shake Shack, Five Guys and In-N-Out Burger

Here’s the scoop on Gluten-Free Menus at In-n-Out Burger, Five Guys and Shake Shack. When it comes to fast food, these are the restaurants where I feel the safest – a question I get asked a lot. You can watch the video to see how I order; In-n-Out Burger, Five Guys and Shake Shack all have a protocol when you order with a “gluten allergy” – so make sure you do just that! I’ve had more than one person tell me they got sick after a burger, but when I ask if they ordered with an allergy note, the answer is no. That’s the key to making sure the staff takes every possible precaution. I commend In-n-Out Burger, Five Guys and Shake Shack for having gluten-free menus and plans in place for those of us following GF diets, and I work within their system to stay safe deliciously.

glutenfree menu in-n-out five guys shake shackIn-n-Out Burger: With the exception of hamburger buns, every item at In-n-Out Burger is gluten-free! That means you can get a Neapolitan shake, cheese fries and an Animal-style burger safely, as long you say “Protein-style for a Gluten Allergy” when you place your order. Fries are fresh-cut potatoes in a segregated fryer (actually, french fries are the only fried item at In-n-Out) and the store’s allergy protocol calls for a clean station, changed gloves, separate utensils and more.

 

Five Guys: gluten-free deliciousness is available nationwide at Five Guys! The burger and hot dogs are cooked on a separate space, and fries are cooked up in fresh peanut oil in a segregated fryer. Just be sure to place your order “Bunless for a Gluten Allergy” or “Lettuce-wrapped for a Gluten Allergy” and listen for the cashier to call your allergy back to the cook team. One cook (usually a manager) will change gloves, clean their workspace, and handle your order from start to finish. Check out a list of ingredients used at Five Guys and allergen information here.

 

Shake Shack: Hamburgers? Yes! Dogs? Yes! Frozen Custard? YES! Shake Shack even has a Allergen Information Page on their website so you can see which products contain other allergens. Order your burger or dog and notate “Gluten Allergy” so the team knows it’s time to take special care of your order. Shake Shack offers a GF burger bun, or you can go bunless too. Plus, they have WINE. Frozen Custard is good to go in a cup (not a cone, obviously) and you’ll need to be mindful of gluten when choosing mix-ins.

*A note about gluten in Shake Shack’s fries: although the fries themselves are gluten-free and prepared in a separate fryer, Shake Shack’s ‘Shrooms and ‘Shroom burgers aren’t gluten-free, and the oil is filtered through the same equipment, so there is a chance for the fryer oil to be contaminated. Shake Shack does not recommend their fries for anyone with a gluten intolerance.

 

You can check out our list of Gluten-Free Menus for other Fast Food options here!