Are McCormick Spices Gluten Free?

Excerpt of an email from McCormick Spices:

“Thank you for contacting us regarding your special allergies and intolerances to gluten.  We understand that there are a growing number of people that have gluten concerns.  We would like to take this opportunity to provide some additional information and let you know that there are many products available to you that will add the flavor you desire.

We often get the request for a list of our gluten-free products.  We do not provide a list because we want you checking the ingredient statements of our products.   McCormick can guarantee you the following:

1. All of our single ingredient spices are gluten-free.  Our single ingredient spices are 100% pure, with nothing additional added to them.

2. All of our extracts are gluten-free.  They are made with a synthetic Ethyl Alcohol, not a grain-based alcohol.

3. If our products have gluten in them, it will be listed clearly in the ingredient statement.  We do not hide any allergens under “natural flavors” or “spices.” This pertains mainly to our Dry Seasoning mixes and some blends.  An example is our Beef Stew Seasoning Mix.  This contains gluten, and states, “Wheat Gluten,” in the ingredient statement.

4. McCormick goes a step further.  If an ingredient is derived from wheat source, such as Maltodextrin, it will be listed as “Maltodextrin (WHEAT), in the ingredient statement.

5. McCormick follows good manufacturing practices at our plants and takes extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of mislabeling or cross-contamination.

If we can be of further assistance, please call us a 1-800-632-5847, Monday through Friday, 9:30AM to 5PM Eastern Time.”

The McCormick company stated verbally when called that they are very careful to make sure their processing lines are thoroughly cleaned between runs, but they do run the blends that contain gluten on the same lines as their other products .

25 thoughts on “Are McCormick Spices Gluten Free?

  1. Thank you for making it easy to choose gluten-free seasonings. Sometimes it is so hard to know the hidden meaning behind "natural flavors".

  2. I was trying to buy some chili powder and I noticed that ( can't remember the name of the thing that was added) but it was to keep the chili pepper powder from sticking together. What is that stuff and is it gluten free. I purchased a different brand because I did not know what it was I noticed that this was added to just about all chili power. Is it a chemical? Gladys Barnes

    1. Gladys, our readers are correct! It is most likely silicon dioxide, and that's Gluten Free. Happy Cooking! :)

  3. Gladys, it may have been silicon dioxide, or something similar. It wouldn't have gluten in it if it was, indeed, silicon dioxide.

  4. I love McCormick spices … thank you for this! My niece is allergic to gluten and I have not used the spices because I did not know if they had gluten in them or not .. I'm new at the gluten-free and they only visit every few months. Thank you for assuring me I can still spice up the food! My sister will be very happy to hear this as well. Oh, can you make the Montreal Chicken in the big containers like the Montreal Steak? That would be helpful, too! grin.

  5. What about McCormick Garlic Powder? I noticed it is imported from China.

    What guarantee can you give that it is indeed Gluten free and manufactured to your standards? There are no warnings on the label, but I have to wonder since it is a Chinese product.

  6. I bought about 8 types of McCormick Powder and seeds they are

    Alphabetical order

    1 – Anise Seed

    2 – GROUND DECORITICATED Cardamom Powder

    3 – GROUND Coriander Seed Powder

    4 – Cumin Seed

    5 – Fennel Seed

    6 – GROUND Ginger

    7 – GROUND Nutmeg

    and I just want to know if any of these contain Gluten or not cause I have celiac disease.

    After you read this message please delete it cause I don't want it to get published on the search bar.

    Thank you.

  7. I called to inquire about a product sold to me called "Season All seasoned salt" I threw up all night after eathing it on my vegatables. . I was informed by the guy that answered the phone that they had sold that brand to another company and thus were not responsible for it making me sick. It contains Maltodextrin. so I am taking the bottle to a lawyer and we will see about that, I threw up so hard I ruptured a blood vessel. What a brillant young man you have working for you!

  8. Are the following spices gluten free:

    Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Lemon Pepper, Italian Seasoning, Basis Leaves? Please let me know. My daughter has been gluten free for 3 weeks now and is doing well.

  9. If they "run the blends that contain gluten on the same lines as their other products," they are not gluten free enough for someone who has medical issues with gluten (e.g., celiac).

  10. I was thrilled to find a ready-to-use chili seasoning and I loved the flavor, however I have celiac disease and there is obviously a high gluten content in this seasoning because I got pretty sick-obviously glutened. A few days later my DH broke out all over my chest. I would advise any person with a gluten allergy or celiac disease to NOT try this product.

  11. This was useful BUT
    Please just put the gf logo on the bottles instead of saying you want us to read your labels further. As a celiac mom, I'm gearing up to read labels enough as it is. I wish all foods could make it clear. Tbh I almost dumped all of my mccormicks out because of the word "spices"

  12. is it true you dont label gluten free cause the government says you have to make it in a gluten free enviorment and yours is not i think you need to stop misleading people thank you

Let us know what you think

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *