If you've ever wondered if McCormick Spices are Gluten Free, you're not alone. Here's the answer, directly from the company.
Excerpt of an email from McCormick Spices to G-Free Foodie:
"Thank you for contacting us regarding your special allergies and intolerances to gluten. We understand that there are a growing number of people that have gluten concerns. We would like to take this opportunity to provide some additional information and let you know that there are many products available to you that will add the flavor you desire.
We often get the request for a list of our gluten-free products. We do not provide a list because we want you checking the ingredient statements of our products. McCormick can guarantee you the following:
1. All of our single ingredient spices are gluten-free. Our single ingredient spices are 100% pure, with nothing additional added to them.
2. All of our extracts are gluten-free. They are made with a synthetic Ethyl Alcohol, not a grain-based alcohol.
3. If our products have gluten in them, it will be listed clearly in the ingredient statement. We do not hide any allergens under “natural flavors” or “spices.” This pertains mainly to our Dry Seasoning mixes and some blends. An example is our Beef Stew Seasoning Mix. This contains gluten, and states, “Wheat Gluten,” in the ingredient statement.
4. McCormick goes a step further. If an ingredient is derived from wheat source, such as Maltodextrin, it will be listed as “Maltodextrin (WHEAT), in the ingredient statement.
5. McCormick follows good manufacturing practices at our plants and takes extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of mislabeling or cross-contamination.
If we can be of further assistance, please call us a 1-800-632-5847, Monday through Friday, 9:30AM to 5PM Eastern Time."
Are McCormick Spice packets Gluten-Free?
McCormick has recently repackaged their Gluten-Free Spice Packet Blends to make the "Gluten-Free" banner more visible across the front of the packet.
Amazon offers an "Everyday Essentials" kit and "Baking Spices" kit of their most popular 100% pure single-ingredient spices.
*The McCormick company stated verbally when called that they are very careful to make sure their processing lines are thoroughly cleaned between runs, but they do run the blends that contain gluten on the same lines as their other products.
McCormick Spices Gluten Free : G-Free Foodie
Frequently Asked Questions about Gluten in McCormick Spices:
All McCormick single ingredient spices are gluten-free. McCormick extracts are gluten-free as well.
If McCormick products have gluten (certain spice blends and mixes do), it will be listed clearly in the ingredient statement. McCormick does not hide any allergens under “natural flavors” or “spices.”
No, McCormick Original Taco Seasoning does not contain gluten. It contains: Spices (Including Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano), Corn Starch, Salt, Onion, and Garlic.
You can also look for the McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix with the green "Gluten-Free" banner on the packet. McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix contains: Spices (Including Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano, Cumin), Onion, Whey (Milk), Salt, Garlic, Sugar, Potato Starch, Red Pepper, and Citric Acid.
No, McCormick Original Taco Seasoning does not contain MSG.
No, McCormick Thick & Zesty Spaghetti Sauce Mix does not contain gluten. It contains: Modified Corn Starch, Sugar, Salt, Corn Maltodextrin, Onion, Tomato Powder, Garlic, Spices (Including Basil and Paprika), Green Bell Pepper & Natural Flavor.
Thank you for making it easy to choose gluten-free seasonings. Sometimes it is so hard to know the hidden meaning behind "natural flavors".
Gladys Barnes says
I was trying to buy some chili powder and I noticed that ( can't remember the name of the thing that was added) but it was to keep the chili pepper powder from sticking together. What is that stuff and is it gluten free. I purchased a different brand because I did not know what it was I noticed that this was added to just about all chili power. Is it a chemical? Gladys Barnes
Gladys, our readers are correct! It is most likely silicon dioxide, and that's Gluten Free. Happy Cooking! 🙂
Gladys, it may have been silicon dioxide, or something similar. It wouldn't have gluten in it if it was, indeed, silicon dioxide.
How about Poultry Seasoning. Jar. Black lid.
D. K. Andrino says
Is McCormick Curcuma (turmeric) irradiated?
G-Free Foodie says
I was wondering if the Grill Mates Molasses Bacon is gluten free.
I love McCormick spices ... thank you for this! My niece is allergic to gluten and I have not used the spices because I did not know if they had gluten in them or not .. I'm new at the gluten-free and they only visit every few months. Thank you for assuring me I can still spice up the food! My sister will be very happy to hear this as well. Oh, can you make the Montreal Chicken in the big containers like the Montreal Steak? That would be helpful, too! grin.
What about McCormick Garlic Powder? I noticed it is imported from China.
What guarantee can you give that it is indeed Gluten free and manufactured to your standards? There are no warnings on the label, but I have to wonder since it is a Chinese product.
Kimberly George says
I would like to know the answer about garlic powder also.
Jada lee says
I bought about 8 types of McCormick Powder and seeds they are
1 - Anise Seed
2 - GROUND DECORITICATED Cardamom Powder
3 - GROUND Coriander Seed Powder
4 - Cumin Seed
5 - Fennel Seed
6 - GROUND Ginger
7 - GROUND Nutmeg
and I just want to know if any of these contain Gluten or not cause I have celiac disease.
After you read this message please delete it cause I don't want it to get published on the search bar.
Cheese Products says
Hi there to all, how is all, I think every one
is getting more from this site, and your views are fastidious in support of new viewers.
julie martinez says
Every Club house item I have ever had has made me sick.
Dan Dunagan says
I called to inquire about a product sold to me called "Season All seasoned salt" I threw up all night after eathing it on my vegatables. . I was informed by the guy that answered the phone that they had sold that brand to another company and thus were not responsible for it making me sick. It contains Maltodextrin. so I am taking the bottle to a lawyer and we will see about that, I threw up so hard I ruptured a blood vessel. What a brillant young man you have working for you!
Kathy Martino says
Are the following spices gluten free:
Onion Powder, Garlic Powder, Lemon Pepper, Italian Seasoning, Basis Leaves? Please let me know. My daughter has been gluten free for 3 weeks now and is doing well.
Kathy Martino says
Correction, Basil Leaves. Thank you. Also its 9:43 am my time in New Orleans LA
I was wondering about "Sulfiting Agents" In the Montreal Chicken Seasoning. Is it Gluten free? What is is? Thanks!
Danette Bishop says
If they "run the blends that contain gluten on the same lines as their other products," they are not gluten free enough for someone who has medical issues with gluten (e.g., celiac).
Linda Laird says
Husband is highly sensitive to a lot of preservatives. We avoid as many as we can. Do all your products contain sulfites? A preserving agent.
Kathy Miller Parrish says
Does the natural flavor in the Bruschetta sweet basil and oregano seasoning contain any MSG?
Jessi L says
I was thrilled to find a ready-to-use chili seasoning and I loved the flavor, however I have celiac disease and there is obviously a high gluten content in this seasoning because I got pretty sick-obviously glutened. A few days later my DH broke out all over my chest. I would advise any person with a gluten allergy or celiac disease to NOT try this product.
McCormick now makes a Gluten Free chili seasoning. bought it but haven't tried it yet. it should taste just like the non gf.
I have used the gf chili,spice and loved it.... Even my family didn't notice it was gluten free and since I make huge batches I can easily freeze it and not worry
This was useful BUT
Please just put the gf logo on the bottles instead of saying you want us to read your labels further. As a celiac mom, I'm gearing up to read labels enough as it is. I wish all foods could make it clear. Tbh I almost dumped all of my mccormicks out because of the word "spices"
is it true you dont label gluten free cause the government says you have to make it in a gluten free enviorment and yours is not i think you need to stop misleading people thank you
So are they IR are they not gluten free? ..some people here saying they got sick from it cause they have gluten. I have the hamburger and Worcestershire pub burger seasonings.
K.C. Pomering says
Please see item #2 & #3. Single ingredient spices and extracts are Gluten-Free, seasoning blends are clearly labeled.
I have a mccormick sweet and smoky rub and it has maltodextrin in the ingredients and nothing beside it saYing wheat
K.C. Pomering says
Then it's corn-derived.
Donna Henderson says
I bought taco seasoning in a large bottle at big box store before I was diagnosed celiac. Now as I look for ingredients, there are none listed on the bottle. I need info on this product
Alonso Galindo says
I would like to know if your product is vegan
Barbara C. says
Most McCormick single ingredient spices are NOT labelled gluten free. While they do claim that any gluten-containing ingredient will be listed on the label these products are handled on equipment shared with gluten containing products. For those of us who are super sensitive, McCormick spices will result in activating celiac disease.