Yeast and the Gluten Free Diet

Question:

Is yeast considered gluten-free?

From,

Rusty

Answer:

Dear Rusty,

This is a great question. If you are referring to baker’s yeast used in most bread products to help them rise, then yes, this type of yeast is gluten-free.

The same goes for nutritional yeast, which is often used as a flavor enhancer or as a cheese substitute for those on a vegan or dairy-free diet.

The (sometimes) exception to yeast being gluten-free, is with true brewer’s yeast, which is a by-product of beer and thus not considered gluten-free.  To make things a little more complicated, however, there are some “brewer’s yeast” brands that are grown on another medium, such as sugar beets, so these products may be gluten-free.

As with all foods, if you have any doubts about a particular brand of yeast, your best bet is to contact the manufacturer for clarification.

In good health,

EA Stewart, MBA, RD

This article was originally posted by the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, find it here.

Let us know what you think

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *