Are you wondering which green tea brands are gluten-free? We're here to help.
100% loose-leaf tea is typically gluten-free unless it has additives or flavors. That includes 100% green tea, black tea and white tea. Herbal teas and tea blends need to be checked for ingredients.
In the same fashion, teabags can also have gluten. Some blends include barley, barley malt or other gluten ingredients. So we developed a list of green tea blends that are safely gluten-free.
Gluten-Free Green Tea Brands:
Lipton Green Tea: The decaf is perfect when you want to enjoy the taste of green tea without the caffeine jolt. I called the company and they verified that all Lipton tea is gluten-free.
Trader Joe’s: Trader's Joe's 100% green tea is gluten-free, and other tea blends will be clearly labeled with ingredients
Teavanna: Jade Citrus Mint blend contains no gluten ingredients
Celestial Seasonings: their green tea does not contain gluten, but other Celestial Seasonings teas do.
Yogi Pure Green Decaf (certified organic): their flavored tea blends may have barley malt, but not the pure teas
Salada Green Tea: their 100% green tea is gluten-free
Tazo: Tazo teas state that they do not use gluten ingredients
Bigelow Teas: are now 100% gluten-free
Is Matcha Gluten-Free?
Matcha is finely milled green tea powder. Since green tea is naturally gluten-free, matcha is gluten-free. So, if what you're drinking (or buying at a tea shop) is 100% matcha, it is gluten-free.
However, some matcha "blends" contain sweeteners, additives and flavorings - so make sure you are selecting 100% matcha.
Pictured: Nom Nom Paleo's Iced Matcha Tea Latte Recipe
My friend Michelle from Nom Nom Paleo recommends this ultra high-end matcha (save 20% by using the code: nomnompaleo) which has become my favorite too.
Original article courtesy: Tina Turbin - updated 2021 by KC the G-Free Foodie
Photo: Michelle Tam, Nom Nom Paleo - try her Iced Matcha Latte Recipe & her Paleo Matcha Mug Cake too!
Frequently Asked Questions about Gluten in Green Tea:
100% green tea or matcha does not contain gluten. Some blends, tea bags, and flavored teas may have gluten ingredients, including barley.
Yes, green tea has caffeine, unless it is marked decaffeinated.
100% matcha does not contain gluten. Some blends, tea bags, and flavored matcha teas may have gluten ingredients.
Matcha is finely milled green tea powder. Since green tea is naturally gluten-free, matcha is gluten-free.
It's not just the barley, it's the bags. Bags which are staple-closed, such as Lipton's, are fine. Some bags which are glue-sealed to the string, are not. Some of the glues contain gluten; same for envelopes. Most envelope glue (where you lick to close it) contains gluten. If a tea bothers you, but there does not seem to be any reason for it, check the bag. It probably is heat-sealed with glue which contains gluten.
Deb Lewis says
Thanks for this article. I purchased Trader Joe's Chai tea bags. Then I developed a skin rash. Could not figure out how I had been wheated. Your comment about the tea bags without staples containing gluten struck a cord. Sure enough, the bags were glued. Ugghhh! Thanks for the great info.
Is salada green tea gluten free?