Yeast and the Gluten Free Diet

Question: Is yeast considered gluten-free? From, Rusty Answer: Dear Rusty, This is a great question. If you are referring to baker’s yeast used in most bread products to help them rise, then yes, this type of yeast is gluten-free. The same goes for nutritional yeast, which is often used as a flavor enhancer or as Read more…

Read More →

The Oat Controversy…Yeah, Still.

Whether or not patients with Celiac Disease and/or gluten sensitivity can safely eat oat products is a debate that has been raging for years and a clear answer still seems nowhere in sight. Some studies show that oats can be safely consumed and others show that they cannot. As with many nutrition-related concepts, actual “facts” Read more…

Read More →

…That Tricky Celiac Disease

Hi G-Free Foodies, I’d like to introduce you to the newest member of the Gluten Free Advocates & Experts crew, Andrew Steingrube! Andrew has a Master’s Degree in Nutritional Science and a passion for healthy eating & helping people live well. He’s full of information & looking forward to helping us all live deliciously Gluten Read more…

Read More →

Understanding and Defining Celiac Disease

What is celiac disease? You may have never heard of celiac disease, but it is actually a fairly common problem. In fact, 1 out of every 133 people has it. That is over 2 million people in this country. It is really more of an allergy than a disease, although it is typically called an Read more…

Read More →

Maltodextrin and Allergen Labeling

I know that malt contains gluten. Is maltodextrin (found in chips, breads) safe for people with celiac disease? From, Kate Answer: Hi Kate, The ingredient “maltodextrin” in FDA-regulated food is considered gluten-free if the ingredient list and/or the “Contains” statement do not include the word “wheat.” Please note that maltodextrin is generally considered gluten-free even when derived Read more…

Read More →

Enduring the Loss to Get to the Gain

So, it’s been an interesting couple of years since my doctor suggested I may have Celiac Disease – I can certainly say that my perspective on loss has changed tremendously – which led to my life getting so much better. When I first went G-Free, I was focused on what I couldn’t have – pasta, Read more…

Read More →

Celiac Disease and Other Forms of Gluten Intolerance

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye, and is responsible for the springiness and stretchiness of bread. Allergies and intolerances to gluten have been the subject of intensive research over the past decade. Much of this research has focused on celiac disease, which is a special form of gluten intolerance. It is Read more…

Read More →

Gluten Free Easter Candy List

Gluten Free Easter Candy List Courtesy: MyGlutenFacts.com Seasonal treats such as Easter chocolate & candy sometimes have a different GF status than similar products made by the same brand. Since seasonal treats are produced once a year, and sold for a limited time only, food manufacturers sometimes outsource the production of these items to other Read more…

Read More →

Understanding and Defining Celiac Disease

What is celiac disease? While many people may have never heard of celiac disease, it is actually a fairly common problem. In fact, 1 out of every 133 people has it. That is over 2 million people in this country. It is really more of an allergy than a disease, although it is typically called Read more…

Read More →