Ask the Dietitian: Modified Food Starch & Maltodextrin

Question: Do you need to avoid modified food starch and maltodextrin to be gluten-free? The books and cookbooks I have read seem to say yes, unless it specifies it was made from corn. However, I am seeing more and more products with those ingredients labeling themselves gluten-free. Case in point, Quaker Cheese Rice Cakes contain Read more…

Read More →

Host Families Needed for Exchange Students with Celiac Disease and Food Allergies

The organization Youth for Understanding is looking for gluten-free and allergy-friendly host families for foreign exchange students. Does your family prepare gluten-free meals? Brave Youth for Understanding (YFU) students are ready to venture beyond their personal and national boundaries. Consider opening your home to an eager student of who can relate and appreciate the special Read more…

Read More →

Gluten-Free Snacks On-The-Go

Question: Any suggestions for easy to locate gluten-free treats – and by treat I mean something your mom would have only let you have once in a blue moon. I found myself recently at a grocery store in rural West Virginia and really wanted some snacks for the road, only the selections were really limited. Read more…

Read More →

Diabetes & Celiac Disease

Question: I need help for my granddaughter who has celiac disease and type 1 diabetes.   It seems that I have been working so hard on the diabetic eating that the gluten-free side seems impossible and expensive.  Any suggestions? From, Susan Answer: Dear Susan, Thanks so much for your question. I can imagine it’s very Read more…

Read More →

Researchers Now Say "Gluten Challenge" Can Be Modified

While it is recommended that people who suspect they have celiac disease get tested before adopting a gluten-free diet, some people opt to go gluten-free immediately. If the gluten-free diet alleviates their symptoms, some people choose to then go get tested.  What many do not realize is that gluten must be present in one’s diet Read more…

Read More →

Yeast and the Gluten Free Diet

Question: Is yeast considered gluten-free? From, Rusty Answer: Dear Rusty, This is a great question. If you are referring to baker’s yeast used in most bread products to help them rise, then yes, this type of yeast is gluten-free. The same goes for nutritional yeast, which is often used as a flavor enhancer or as Read more…

Read More →

NFCA Launches Spanish-Language Symptoms Checklist in Collaboration with Question Diagnostics

The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) has teamed up with Quest Diagnostics to create new and engaging resources addressing celiac disease and gluten-related disorders. On NFCA’s website (CeliacCentral.org), there is a new Spanish-language version of the popular Celiac Disease Symptoms Checklist. NFCA and Quest Diagnostics hope that this new resource will raise awareness of Read more…

Read More →

Statement by National Foundation for Celiac Awareness

The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) launched its Tiered Credentialing system in April 2012 in response to a growing concern in the restaurant industry around cross-contamination. While the NFCA recognizes the importance of alerting consumers to cross-contamination risks, the community response has prompted NFCA to reconsider the Amber Designation and related product labeling as Read more…

Read More →

Statement From NFCA Regarding GREAT Kitchens Designation

We want you to understand our approach with the new tiered system. Since we announced the expansion of our GREAT Kitchens program on April 25, 2012, we have received inquiries about our approach and why NFCA is taking this step now. The expansion includes a new credentialing system specifically for the restaurant industry — a Green Read more…

Read More →

Timing Of Exposure In Infants at Risk For Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is a unique autoimmune disorder in which certain genetic markers (HLA-DQ2 and/or HLA-DQ8) are present that create particular immune responses when gluten (proteins found in wheat, barley, and rye) is consumed. Only individuals who possess one or both of the genetic markers are prone to developing celiac disease; however, not everyone who is Read more…

Read More →