Food labels aren't the only things you should check for hidden gluten.
When you’re checking ingredient labels at the grocery store, don’t forget the drink aisle. A recent article in Todays Diet & Nutrition noted the risk of hidden gluten in beverages, which are often assumed to be safe. The article, which included input from NFCA Medical Advisory member Nancy Falini, MA, RD, LDN, and other top dietitians, distinguished between which drinks are safe and which ones should throw a red flag.
While many drinks are gluten-free, some bottled juices, smoothies, coffee drinks, and tea many contain gluten, the article noted. Ingredients to look out for include malt, wheat grass and barley. So, unless you drink only water, check to make sure what you’re drinking AND eating is gluten-free.
This article was originally posted by the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, find it here.
Let Us Know What You Think